Aktuell

Bike Meet-Up

Bike meet-up for everyone. In front of the shop every Wednesday at 6:30 p.m. from April to September (April & September from 6:00 pm)
Together with you, we would like to explore the trails in our region. The Bike meet-up is designed for every skill level. At the end of each tour, we enjoy a small refreshment together at the lake.

Our History

  • 2017

    Pünktlich aufs neue Jahr geht unsere neue Webseite online.
  • 2016

    In August, Loris Wigger, the youngest member of the team, begins his apprenticeship as a bicycle mechanic. On the 6th of September 2016, we celebrate our 20th anniversary with drums and trumpets. Many of our friends join us to celebrate the big day, some of which had been there from the very first hours.
  • 2015

    A new shop floor is set up, and from now on, much planning has to be done. Every free minute will be invested into improving the interior design of the store. On the 26th of September 2015, the new restaurant on Aabachstrasse is opened under the name „welcome cycles.“ The workshop is now three times as big and equipped with extremely modern, state-of-the-art features in order to optimally meet the increasing customer requirements. With the new name and change of location, the positioning as a bicycle specialist is once again underlined.
  • 2014

    Ivan is admitted to the BBZG (Berufsbildungszentrum Goldau) as an expert in the bicycle mechanics training course. Bela Finkelnburg joins the team. With his enthusiasm and inexhaustible know-how, the skilled master of bicycle mechanics further increases the quality of our service. Sebastian is the first bicycle mechanic to complete an apprenticeship at our company. In August, Sven Schuler becomes our third bicycle mechanic apprentice. The shop repositions itself and separates itself from Winter sports. We are now concentrating solely on our core business- the bicycle.
  • 2013

    Lukas Blaser succeeds Raphael Bisig on the 1st of March 2013. As the new co-owner, Lukas brings in a lot of experience from various occupational areas and thus helps to optimize the structures within the company. As a bike guide and board member of the IG Mountainbike Zug, he loves and lives for bikes. Jonas Plüss begins an apprenticeship as the second bicycle mechanic apprentice the company has taken on.
  • 2012

    At the age of 41, Ivan completes his training as a Swiss bicycle mechanic with a grade of 5.3. Raphael Bisig decides to go new ways after 16 years. He will leave Welcome gmbh at the end of February 2013 with the goal of devoting himself to snowboarding again. Through the website "MySnowboard.ch," Raphael now produces custom-designed snowboards.
  • 2011

    Beginning of Sebi Eichenberger’s training as the first bicycle mechanic.
  • 2010

    Team rider Adrian Fischer jumps over the “Big Air Kicker” in the snow, in the Mythenpark (Handgruobi). The local press writes a report about it.
  • 2009

    Lukas Blaser lends us his support in the construction of vehicles for the spring exhibition.
  • 2008

    The “Big Air Blasenberg” takes place at the Blasenberg. Almost overnight, more than 200 people are lined up, and every imaginable vehicle is used to perform manoeuvres on the jump.
  • 2007

    Success of the social project "s'velo.ch" thanks to the support of well-known companies from Zug
  • 2006

    Winter is brought into the town of Zug in the parking lot in front of the shop. Thanks to the Herti ice rink, snow will be delivered, which will be used to create a fun park, where the “City Rail Contest” will take place.
  • 2005

    Birth of the own brand "s'velo.ch". A social project created in cooperation with the GGZ, consisting of building a 100% Zug-made, “everyday-bike”, to be sold at a fair price.
  • 2004

    The first apprenticeship position as a detail trade representative is filled. From now on, we will train apprentices. There is great success at the new location thanks to big brand names like Burton, DC, Roxy, Felt and Rocky Mountain being introduced to the bike department.
  • 2003

    A move is about to take place, and preparations are in full blast. The new location will be Baarerstrasse 43 in the centre of Zug. The big move takes place in December, and the new shop is opened under the name "welcome the freeride shop". As reinforcement, Jenny Müller becomes the first woman to join the team, and quickly becomes indispensable. In the same year, Xaver Hoffmann wins the World Cup in snowboarding, of course riding a snowboard from us.
  • 2002

    „welcome the freeride shop“ fills a whole hall at the Zug fair, and shines with the latest free-ride videos of the bike scene.
  • 2001

    Michi Bissig takes over Chrigi Balmer’s work, and convinces with his easy-going ways.
  • 2000

    The business is running, the shop and bike workshop are being enlarged. Tobias Stutz completes his one-year internship.
  • 1999

    Great success with the brands Santa Cruz, Kona, Schwinn and Mongoose. With the equally great success of the own brand Qualifly, the demand can no longer be met. The first series snowboards are produced abroad.
  • 1998

    A Bikeshop is set up in the sideroom, the "Bike Factory" is born. Kona is the first brand in the portfolio. Ivan, who already committed his heart to the love of bikes as a child, is the driving force behind it. As a 12-year-old, he collected his experiences as a bicycle mechanic in his father's garage, which served him as a "bikeshop". Santa Cruz is added to the selection of available brands. The first employee, Chrigi Balmer, is hired to support sales and production.
  • 1997

    Many orders for custom snowboards, numerous exhibitions and newspaper reports make the "Boarder Factory" known all over Switzerland.
  • 1996

    The additional construction of a bike fun park in Kägiswil takes place in October. With the help of friends, it’s built over many hours and alongside the snowboard production and the daily business. In cooperation with Huber Fahrzeugbau Cham, everything is completed without the need for external help.
  • 1996

    On the 6th of September 1996, Ivan Rimensberger and Raphael Bisig open their joint business, the "Boarder Factory," on Baarerstrasse 113 in Zug (Indukta / old brick building of Landis & Gyr). The 200 square metre area is divided into a sales area and a separate production facility. The first snowboards bear and export the name "Boarder Factory" to the outside world.
  • 1995

    The first snowboards are designed and built by Ivan, who is a trained carpenter. Through this, Ivan meets Raphael Bisig who shares his passion, and they begin working together.
  • 1994

    Ivan Rimensberger, initiator and co-founder of the BMX-Club Zugerracer, takes home his first Swiss title.

Aktuell

Biketreff

Biketreff für alle. Vor dem Shop jeden Mittwoch 18.30 Uhr von April bis September (April & September ab 18.00 Uhr)
Gemeinsam möchten wir mit dir die Trails in unserer Region erkunden. Der Biketreff ist für jede Könnerstufe gedacht. Zum Abschluss jeder Tour gönnen wir uns jeweils gemeinsam eine kleine Erfrischung am See.

Unsere Geschichte

  • 2017

    Pünktlich aufs neue Jahr geht unsere neue Webseite online.
  • 2016

    Im August beginnt Loris Wigger als jüngstes Mitglied im Team die Lehre als Fahrradmechaniker. Am 6. September 2016 wird das 20-jährige Bestehen mit Pauken und Trompeten gefeiert. Viele Freunde aus der Gegenwart und bis zurück zur ersten Stunde feiern mit uns den grossen Tag.
  • 2015

    Ein neues Ladenlokal wird ausgemacht, von nun an wird geplant und jede freie Minute in den Innenausbau gesteckt. Am 26. September 2015 wird das neue Lokal an der Aabachstrasse als „welcome cycles“ eröffnet. Die Werkstatt ist neu dreimal so gross, topmodern auf dem neusten Stand der Technik, um den steigenden Kundenwünschen optimal gerecht zu werden. Mit dem neuen Namen und dem Standortwechsel wird die Positionierung als Fahrradspezialist nochmals unterstrichen.
  • 2014

    Ivan wird am BBZG (Berufsbildungszentrum Goldau) als Experte für die Fahrradmechaniker-Ausbildung aufgenommen. Bela Finkelnburg stösst zum Team dazu. Der gelernte Fahrradmechaniker-Meister steigert mit seiner Begeisterung und seinem unerschöpflichen Know-how nochmals die Qualität unseres Services. Sebastian schliesst als erster Fahrradmechaniker die Lehre in unserem Betrieb ab. Sven Schuler tritt im August als dritter Fahrradmechaniker-Lehrling die Stelle an. Der Shop positioniert sich neu und löst sich vom Wintersport. Nun konzentrieren wir uns auf unser Kerngeschäft – das Fahrrad.
  • 2013

    Lukas Blaser tritt per 1. März 2013 die Nachfolge von Raphael Bisig an. Als neuer Mitinhaber bringt er viel Erfahrung aus verschiedenen Berufssparten mit und hilft so, die Strukturen im Betrieb zu optimieren. Als Bikeguide und Vorstandsmitglied der IG Mountainbike Zug liebt und lebt er den Bikesport. Jonas Plüss beginnt die Lehre als zweiter Fahrradmechaniker-Lehrling im Betrieb.
  • 2012

    Ivan schliesst mit 41 Jahren die Ausbildung als eidgenössisch diplomierter Fahrradmechaniker mit der Note 5.3 ab. Raphael Bisig entschliesst sich, nach 16 Jahren neue Wege zu gehen. Er verlässt die welcome gmbh per Ende Februar 2013 und wird sich fortan wieder vermehrt dem Snowboard widmen. Mit „MySnowboard.ch“ produziert er Custom-Snowboards.
  • 2011

    Ausbildungsbeginn des ersten Fahrradmechanikers Sebi Eichenberger
  • 2010

    Teamfahrer Adrian Fischer springt im Mythenpark (Handgruobi) im Schnee über den Big Air Kicker. Darüber berichtet die lokale Presse.
  • 2009

    Lukas Blaser unterstützt uns im Aufbau von Fahrzeugen für die Frühlingsausstellung.
  • 2008

    Am Blasenberg wird der Big Air Blasenberg ausgetragen. Fast über Nacht werden über 200 Leute mobilisiert, und es wird mit allem Erdenklichen über die grosse Schanze performt.
  • 2007

    Erfolg mit dem Sozialprojekt „s’velo.ch“ dank Unterstützung namhafter Firmen aus Zug.
  • 2006

    Auf dem Parkplatz vor dem Shop wird der Winter in die Stadt geholt. Austragung des City Rail Contests, von der Herti-Eishalle wird Schnee geliefert und zu einem Funpark verarbeitet.
  • 2005

    Geburtsstunde der Eigenmarke „s’velo.ch“. Ein soziales Projekt, das in Zusammenarbeit mit der GGZ realisiert wird. Ein Alltagsvelo, neu aufgestellt zu einem fairen Preis und zu 100 Prozent in Zug aufgebaut.
  • 2004

    Die erste Lehrstelle als Detailhandelsangestellte wird vergeben. Von nun an bilden wir Lehrlinge aus. Grosser Erfolg am neuen Standort dank grossen Markennamen wie Burton, DC, Roxy sowie Felt und Rocky Mountain im Bikesegment.
  • 2003

    Ein Umzug steht bevor, die Vorbereitungen laufen auf Hochtouren. Neuer Standort wird die Baarerstrasse 43 mitten im Zentrum von Zug. Im Dezember ist es soweit und der neue Shop wird unter dem Namen „welcome the freeride shop“ eröffnet. Als Verstärkung des Teams stösst Jenny Müller als erste Frau zum Team, schnell ist Jenny unentbehrlich. Im gleichen Jahr gewinnt Xaver Hoffmann den Gesamtweltcup im Snowboarden, natürlich auf einem Snowboard von uns.
  • 2002

    „welcome the freeride shop“ füllt an der Zuger Messe eine ganze Halle und glänzt mit den neusten Freeride-Videos der Bikeszene.
  • 2001

    Michi Bissig übernimmt die Arbeit von Chrigi Balmer und überzeugt mit seiner lockeren Art.
  • 2000

    Das Geschäft läuft, Shop und Bikewerkstatt werden vergrössert. Tobias Stutz schliesst sein 1-jähriges Praktikum ab.
  • 1999

    Grosser Erfolg mit Santa Cruz, Kona, Schwinn und Mongoose. Mit dem grossen Erfolg der eigenen Marke Qualifly kann die Nachfrage nicht mehr gedeckt werden. Die ersten Serien-Snowboards werden im Ausland produziert.
  • 1998

    Im Nebenraum wird ein Bikeshop eingerichtet, die „Bike Factory“ entsteht. Kona ist die erste Marke im Portfolio. Ivan, der sein Herz schon als Kind dem Bike verschrieben hat, ist die treibende Kraft dahinter. Er sammelte dazu schon als 12-Jähriger seine Erfahrungen als Fahrradmechaniker in der Garage seines Vaters, die ihm als „Bikeshop“ diente. Santa Cruz kommt als weitere Marke hinzu. Der erste Angestellte wird eingestellt, Chrigi Balmer unterstützt im Verkauf und in der Produktion.
  • 1997

    Viele Aufträge für Custom-Snowboards, etliche Ausstellungen und Zeitungsberichte machen die „Boarder Factory“ in der ganzen Schweiz bekannt.
  • 1996

    Im Oktober folgt der Zuschlag für den Bau eines Bike-Funparks in Kägiswil. Dieser wird zusammen mit Freunden in vielen Stunden neben der Snowboardproduktion und dem Tagesgeschäft erstellt. In Zusammenarbeit mit Huber Fahrzeugbau Cham konnte alles selbst realisiert werden.
  • 1996

    Am 6. September 1996 eröffnen Ivan Rimensberger und Raphael Bisig ihr gemeinsames Geschäft, die „Boarder Factory“ an der Baarerstrasse 113 in Zug (Indukta / altes Bachsteingebäude der Landis & Gyr). Die 200 m2 grosse Fläche wird in einen Verkaufsraum und eine abgetrennte Produktionsstätte unterteilt. Die ersten Snowboards tragen den Namen "Boarder Factory" nach aussen.
  • 1995

    Die ersten Snowboards werden von Ivan, als gelernter Schreiner, entworfen und gebaut. Dadurch lernt er Raphael Bisig kennen und sie teilen ihre Leidenschaft.
  • 1994

    Ivan Rimensberger, Initiant und Mitgründer des BMX-Clubs Zugerracer, kann seinen ersten Schweizermeistertitel einfahren.